On May 18, 1999 the Executive Board of the Georgia Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators established the GASFAA Memorial Scholarship Fund to provide a scholarship to a student enrolled in an institution of higher education in Georgia. The scholarship will honor our deceased colleagues whose names and institutions are listed below:

Paul Abbott Georgia Student Finance Commission
Gordon Alston Georgia Southern University
Bill Bolton Georgia Student Finance Commission
Linda Brumfield Spelman College
Melonie Choice Georgia Military College
Dean Dalton Georgia State University
Eva Floyd Emory University
Betty Fowler Reinhardt College
Kay Freeland Life University
Judy Giles Lanier Technical Institute
Barbara Green East Georgia State College
Patsy Griffin Lanier Technical College
Bud Holtzclaw Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
Wayne Hopper Dalton Junior College
W. Arnold Hulsey North Georgia College
Bonnie Johnson Agnes Scott College
Eddene Johnson Albany State College
Meta Kirsch Atlanta Metropolitan College
William T. Lee Georgia Institute of Technology
Jack McGraw Pickett and Hatcher Education Loan Fund
Joann Putnam Young Harris College
Dale Renfroe Georgia Dept of Technical and Adult Education
Don Payton Georgia Student Finance Commission
Bruce Pound Floyd College
Karey D Raborn, Jr Savannah Technical College
Lee Ann Seawall University of Georgia
Bill Simmons Georgia Student Finance Commission
Guy Snavely Pickett and Hatcher Education Loan Fund
Vivian Spivey Sandersville Technical College
Don Wilson East Georgia College


As of the 2000-01 year, the GASFAA Past-Presidents have assumed responsibility for fund raising for the Memorial Scholarship Fund. Fund raising activities will be planned for each meeting and all proceeds from raffles or other activities will be dedicated to this fund. A selection process will be defined and the first scholarship awarded when sufficient funds accumulate to support annual awards.

Beginning with the Spring 2003, the GASFAA Memorial Scholarship will be awarded at each Spring conference. Below is a listing of the scholarship winners:

Spring 2018

North Georgia Technical College
Oconee Fall Line Technical College
Valdosta State University

Spring 2017

Georgia Northwestern Technical College
Savannah College of Art and Design
Young Harris College
Spring 2016 Atlanta Technical College
Coastal Pines Technical College
Emmanuel College
Spring 2015 East Georgia College
Helms College
Mercer University
Spring 2014 Southern Polytechnic State University
Athens Technical College
Spring 2013 Altamaha Technical College
Lanier Technical College
Spring 2012 Piedmont College
Georgia Health Sciences University
Spring 2011 Georgia Gwinnett College
Albany Technical College
Spring 2010 Brenau University
LaGrange College
Spring 2009 Georgia Gwinnett College
North Georgia Technical College
Spring 2008 Atlanta Metropolitan College
Oglethorpe University
Spring 2007 Albany Technical College
Spring 2006 Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
Spring 2005 Morehouse College
Spring 2004 Coastal Georgia Community College
Spring 2003 Augusta State University

Anyone may make a tax-deductible contribution by sending a check payable to:

Kristie Teasley, GASFAA
c/o Chattahoochee Technical College
980 S. Cobb Drive
Marietta GA, 30060